No Plan B

September 2, 2011

This morning I listened to my co-worker describe her daughter’s decision to transfer to another college.  Apparently, she has disliked her current school and is wanting to come back to Indiana and attend IU.  Knowing that this would be a large shock to her parents, she prepared a Power Point presentation to explain her rationale.

Of course, most of us found this quite comical. A Power Point presentation? Really? That’s a little overkill! As we joked, her mom shared that the title was ‘Plan B’.

It struck me later on that there is a large group of people in the world who believe they are living ‘Plan B’ or ‘Plan C’.  In that same moment, I thought that I am likely living ‘Plan EEE”.  I have had so many plans which have ‘failed’, I am likely looping through the alphabet for the third time.

Yet, something in me says that is not true.

My last post was about being appointed and having an appointment. I shared verses from Romans 8 and I find myself there, again, tonight.

“So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. And because you belong to him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death. The law of Moses was unable to save us because of the weakness of our sinful nature. So God did what the law could not do. He sent his own Son in a body like the bodies we sinners have. And in that body God declared an end to sin’s control over us by giving his Son as a sacrifice for our sins. He did this so that the just requirement of the law would be fully satisfied for us, who no longer follow our sinful nature but instead follow the Spirit.

Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit.  So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.”

When I first accepted Jesus’ sacrifice for me, I felt overwhelming gratitude all of the time.  I just wanted to offer my life my back to Him (I still do). I worked for years to root-out my sinful nature.  I studied the Bible and prayed. I worked hard to be honest and kind.  One day, I finally began to feel like a new creation.

And then, one Easter morning, I woke up and the day didn’t feel special anymore.  I knew Christ had died for me. I had seen him change me. 

Yet, I was missing something. 

For years, I went on feeling this way. I just figured that I was ‘maturing’. Then, I thought I needed ‘solid milk’.  In many ways, these things were very true.

Yet, I was missing something.

I read the verses from Romans and always assumed that I just needed to be more ‘spirit-minded’. And I worked harder at it.

Yet, I was missing something.

After ten years of this, I woke up one morning and I felt peace-less.

I was missing something.

I looked back on my life and felt that I had made all of the wrong decisions. I had lived a fairly upright life, yet it seemed there was nothing to show for it.

“There is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ.”

I was missing something.

Even though I had lived ‘well’, so-to-speak, I felt condemned. 

In the process of being a ‘living sacrifice’, I had mistakenly come to the conclusion that I needed to do it myself. 

“God declared an end to sin’s control over us by giving His Son as a sacrifice for our sins.”

All these years, I had been trying to live a ‘good life’ for Christ.  I had tried to ‘root-out’ sin and live well. But God had already done that for me. I didn’t need to try so hard.  Even though Christ’s sacrifice had cleansed me, I was still dominated by sinful nature.  Letting my sinful nature dominate me, led me down a path of death. I stood looking back on things with regret.  I felt anything, but life and peace.

I was missing something.

I needed to be controlled by the Holy Spirit.  I needed to think about  the things that please the Holy Spirit.

“And now, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true…”  Philippians 4:8

For the last year, I have been watching for the feelings of condemnation in my life.  I need to focus on what’s true.  There is no condemnation for me, because of Christ. 

From sins to bad decisions, there is no condemnation.

Which brings me to Plan B or, as I referred to it earlier, Plan EEE.

As I thought about my life this morning, I began to feel the weight of past failures and disappointments – condemnations.

And then, I then I invited the Holy Spirit to show me the truth of my situation.

And I come back to those verses in Romans 8. 

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?  He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?  Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.  Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.  Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?  

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.”

Do you get the sense that God doesn’t have a Plan B for you? Do you get the sense that nothing can separate you from Plan A? 

Do you get the sense that God is Plan A?

 

One Response to “No Plan B”

  1. Sally Haskett said

    Faith is the substance of things hoped for (his blessed hope-that He is coming again someday) the evidence of things not seen. We are like the Galatians who were asked of” Did you come to grace by obeying the law or by grace?” We all fall into the works thing. He is so gracious to keep reminding us of who we are in Him. He told me over 27 years ago that when the feeling are gone, remember the committment. That is what faith is. Once again , encouraged by your posts and honesty.

Please let me know what you think!

